About Math Comm

This site originated in the M.I.T. Department of Mathematics, which offers about ten communication-intensive courses, many of which are led by a different instructor each semester. The department created a website to engage and support this community of instructors and to facilitate the archiving of course materials and the gleaning of “good practices” for these courses. As of 2011, these “good practices” are based on the contributions, knowledge, &/or experience of the following people. (More recent contributors are mentioned by name where their material appears within the site.)

Instructors for undergraduate seminars:

Sami Assaf, Olivier Bernardi, Scott Carnahan, Henry Cohn, Christopher Dodd, Sigurdur Helgason, Victor Kac, Steven Kleiman, Daniel Kleitman, George Lusztig, Grace Lyo, Mia Minnes, Neil Olver, Pedro Reis, Peter Shor, Andrew Snowden, Daniel Tam, Fabrizio Zanello

Instructors and teaching assistants for a mathematics project lab class:

Michael Artin, Haynes Miller, Bjorn Poonen, Paul Seidel, David Vogan, Tom Mrowka, Julee Kim, Giorgia Fortuna, David Jerison, Chris Dodd, Ivan Losev, Grace Lyo, David Jordan, Scott Sheffield, Asaf Nachmias, Joel Lewis, Alejandro Morales. The page for this class has been updated since 2011 based on improvements made by more recent instructors and TAs: Tomasz Mrowka, Chris Schommer-Pries, Zhiwei Yun, Richard Stanley, Mahir Hadzic, Thomas Bitoun, Haynes Miller, Nat Stapleton, Saul Glasman, Larry Guth, Michael Andrews, David Jerison, Ting Zhou, John Binder, Homer Reid, Padma Srinivasan

Lecturers and recitation instructors for a class with a communication recitation:

Joel Lewis, Craig Desjardins, Hans Christianson, Todd Kemp, Katrin Wehrheim, Mohammed Abouzaid, Peter Speh, Richard Melrose, Kyle Ormsby, Clark Barwick, Hamid Hezari

Lecturers for a communication-intensive lecture class:

Peter Shor, Michel Goemans

Class in principles of mathematical communication:

Steven Kleiman

Other contributors:

Steven Johnson, Leslie Perelman

Writing Across the Curriculum lecturer and site editor:

Susan Ruff

The site was developed using WordPress as a collaboration between the math department, M.I.T.’s Writing Across the Curriculum (now Writing, Rhetoric, and Professional Communication), and M.I.T.’s Office of Educational Innovation and Technology, and has been live since the beginning of the 2009 fall term.

Site concept:

Mia Minnes, Sami Assaf, Susan Ruff

Technical team:

Violeta Ivanova (lead), Brett Mellor, Mitcho Erlewine

In 2010 the NSF awarded an NSDL grant to make the site public. The public site was created with the help and support of many of those listed above. In addition, M.I.T.’s materials have been merged with a wealth of resources from other institutions, many of which were found online by undergraduate researchers at M.I.T.

Undergraduate researchers and TeXnician:

Noor Doukmak, Artur Araujo, Cyrus Rich

Principle Investigator:

Haynes Miller

The public site is hosted by the Mathematical Association of America as part of MathDL. The current editors are Haynes Miller, Susan Ruff, Bridget Tenner, and Ivars Peterson (blog editor).

The story of the site’s origins is illustrated in a poster presented at the NSDL National Meeting.

Now it’s your turn. Please suggest improvements and contribute materials.

License: CC BY-NC-SA Page content licensed by MAA MathDL Mathematical Communication under the license:
CC BY-NC-SA (Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike)